Cook Em Up / The Food

French Toast served Two Ways

I went to a restaurant that serves ‘breakfast at any time’. So I ordered French Toast during the Renaissance. ~ Steven Wright

I distinctly remember the first time I had French toast. Of course I didn’t know what it was called and I had no clue that what I was eating was essentially an eggy bread.

Growing up, I wasn’t actually a fan of egg. When my ma made boiled eggs for breakfast I would quickly gobble down the egg whites and then throw away the yolk. And if she made a fried egg, I would eat up the crispy egg white and serve the yolky part to my father with a big grin. I am now a full-fledged egg-aholic, but as a kid my lunch box was mostly egg-free. But well, my foodie eyes have always had a roving tendency since a young age and I chanced upon this yumminess in a friend’s lunch box. I even remember what it looked like. The bread was amazingly soft, had this texture that I fell instantly in love with and was just the right amount of caramelised sweet. I went back home and got after my mom, “How come you don’t make toast the way Supreet’s mom makes it?” My mother being my mother replies back, “Well, because my daughter hates the idea of eating eggs, so why waste bread by dipping it in egg and serving it to you.” WHAT?! Did I just have a bread slice with egg on it?? AAAAaaaaaaaaaaa… But it was sooo good. Hmm, egg can’t be all that bad, I thought. “Ma, would you make it for me please, I think I can have eggs like THAT” (soaked in bread and with dollops of sugar and milk).. And that’s when the love affair with French toast began.

I love French toast and can’t ever have enough. And the variations are so sinful and amazing. There’s hazelnut stuffed French toast, banana bread French toast, strawberries and cream on french toasts, spicy onion French toast; but the one recipe I keep coming back to, time and again, is the classic Cinnamon and Sugar French Toast. That was what I essentially decided to whip up last weekend for Sunday breakfast with the husband, but he isn’t a big fan of sweet breakfasts and so I decided to make the toast two ways, Sweet for me, Savoury for him.

Didn’t take any extra time at all and both of us got what we wanted. He had 2 slices of the savoury toast and well, I can’t ever choose between food, so I had a slice of each!

FT2.jpg

All you need to whip this up (Ingredients):

  1. Eggs, 3
  2. Cheddar Cheese, grated, 1 cup
  3. Milk, 100 ml
  4. Salt and Pepper, to taste
  5. Butter, 1 Tbsp
  6. Cinnamon, 1 tsp
  7. Brown sugar, 1.5 tsp
  8. Vanilla essence, 1 tsp
  9. Bread 4 slices (Stale bread works the best)

French Toast Magic begins here (Method):

  1. For the savoury toast, lightly beat 2 eggs in a bowl, add 3/4th of the milk, and whisk this mixture
  2. Soak bread in this mixture for about 15 seconds each side
  3. Heat up a non-stick pan and add butter
  4. Once butter is nicely heated, add the soaked bread to the pan and lightly fry one side, for about 20 seconds
  5. Sprinkle the cheese on the non-fried side and flip the bread
  6. With your spatula, lightly press the bread so that the egg cooks through and the cheese gets nicely melted. This should take about 20-30 seconds.
  7. Transfer onto plate, season with salt and pepper, and serve with a light drizzle of sriracha

This should give you about 3-4 slices.

  1. For the sweet version, lightly beat the remaining egg and milk, and mix in cinnamon, brown sugar, and the vanilla essence.
  2. Dip the bread for 20 seconds each side and lightly fry in the previously heated pan. Most non stick pans won’t need additional butter, but if you want to add butter to your toast, please feel free. Keep the pan on medium heat.
  3. Flip the bread to cook the other side, once one side cooks through. Do remember that in the sweet version, the eggs and sugar have to cook for longer for the bread to be thick and crusty and sweet. So cooking this bread will need about a minute on each side, if you want the toasts to be well, toasted. If you like your bread to be soft and not too crisp, then cook each side for about 40 seconds and not more.
  4. Serve the sweet French toast with your favourite syrup (honey, maple, chocolate) or just have it with some freshly chopped peaches and blueberries and add a slight dollop of cream.

Makes about 2 servings of the toast.

Some of the other French Toast recipes I have drooled over, and have to make at home soon enough;

A Cup of Jo http://joannagoddard.blogspot.com.au/2012/04/best-french-toast-youll-ever-have.html
I am a Food Blog http://iamafoodblog.com/crispy-salt-and-pepper-french-toast-recipe/
Pinch my Salt http://pinchmysalt.com/basic-french-toast-recipe/
Smitten Kitchen http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2012/04/cinnamon-toast-french-toast-cookbook-preview/
A Cozy Kitchen http://acozykitchen.com/toasted-almond-french-toast/

Bon Appetit!

Hey Hey, What do you have to say?

