Bake Em Up / The Food

Nutella Banana Bread

Nutella Banana Bread

Nutella Banana Bread

I had been laying off banana bread for a while now. You know, all that calorie counting, healthy eating, and jacksh*it. But it’s like it was calling out to me every time I saw a slice..

Shrutiiii, I am banana bread.. I fulfill the craving in your head

I know you know I am actually cake, but gurl, you know I am better than steak 

Bah! bad rhyme, but you know what I am saying. A lot of us (or maybe just me) eats the banana bread thinking oh, it’s so good for me, and maybe for some of you out there it is. However a lack of a dedicated exercise regime, plus counting calories had finally made me realise I needed to lay off the ‘cake-bread’ for a bit. But how to ignore the innocent looking packaged slices just lying around the office cafeteria; or implicitly imploring me from store shelves to just take them home with me.

Simple. Bake it at home, silly.

So I made my version of home-made healthy wholemeal banana bread to shush the inner calorific demons. And when I say healthy, and bread, I mean healthy, and bread. This tastes more bread-y than cake-y. So if you want a healthy-wealthy bread, you have come to the right place.

This is a loaf made of wholewheat flour, using no sugar, and no eggs, and no butter. That’s the beauty of baking with bananas, they are the best supplement for eggs and fat (butter, oil), plus they provide the sugary content too.

And okay, I cheated a bit. I added a spoon of Nutella because it was lying right in front of me. But to compensate, I spooned in a big serving of pumpkin seeds in the batter too. Sorted.

and yes, always ALWAYS make sure you use over-ripe bananas because that gives the best result. And does all that magic.

1

2

3

4

5a

Ingredients

  1. Bananas: 3, mashed
  2. Wholewheat flour (atta): 2 cups
  3. Baking powder: 1.5 tsp
  4. Vanilla essence: 3 tsp
  5. Ground Cinnamon: 1 tsp
  6. Ground Nutmeg: half a tsp
  7. Walnuts, slightly roasted and chopped roughly: ½ to 1 cup (individual discretion)

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg
  3. Add the vanilla essence and mashed bananas to this mix, and mix gently
  4. The batter will be sticky. Don’t worry, that’s a good sign
  5. Add the chopped walnuts to this batter.
  6. Lightly flour a baking loaf pan and pour batter into it
  7. Place pan with batter into the pre-heated oven, and bake at 180 degrees Celsius, for 30 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the batter comes out clean.

Wasn’t that easy? Ta-da, the really healthy banana BREAD is ready. Enjoy it plain, or toasted with whatever topping you prefer (butter, jam, honey…). Now eat it within the next week or so. Or store in your fridge, that keeps it for 2-3 weeks. (If you have managed to not finish it off within that time)

 

4 thoughts on “Nutella Banana Bread

  1. Hi Franziska,
    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog. And a bigger thanks for pointing out that the recipe is missing. Eeps!
    Updated it now.
    Do try the same and let me know if you liked it :)

    Like

  2. hey! your banana bread looks amazing!! I’m from germany and i love “healthy baking”!! So pitty, that i can’t find the recipe!?

    Like

Hey Hey, What do you have to say?

