Cook Em Up / The Food

Creamy Avocado Egg Salad

We got a new plant and it’s all pink and green. I thought Arjun would never agree, but voila, he <3’ed it too. Yay. It’s just the most gorgeous thing ever. I love it. And hopefully we are taking good care of it: watering it, sunning it, even talking to it.

ps2.jpg

We are buying plants now. Wow.  Whole new grown-up territory.goes and wolves down 2 bags of fairy floss  There, that feels more like it.

Any suggestions on what we should name it, if any?

Any suggestions on what we should name it, if any?

Anyhoo, I had been craving a good egg salad for a while now. The last I had it was when I was in Derby, and I used to just pick up a pack of standard retail store egg salad – all mayo, raisins, mustard, boiled egg, and an assortment of other trimmings that made it what it is. Sounds ugh now, but I used to devour it like crazy then.

But fairy floss candy aside, my taste buds have now evolved. To the extent that I actually DON’T like mayonnaise anymore. Especially store bought egg mayo. I love garlic aioli in certain places, and I am sure the home made version of mayo is always awesome (never made it myself). But I just didn’t want to make an egg salad with mayo.

So Google baba helped me find out that a good substitute for mayo is greek yogurt and/or avocado. Awesome-saucesome.

eggs1.jpg

 

avo1.jpg

The first time I made this salad, I didn’t have any yogurt around and ended up using a spoon of garlic aioli (Australian for garlic flavoured mayonnaise). So even though it was tasty and all, I wasn’t satisfied. But then I made this recipe with greek yogurt  and what a difference it made.

tomato1.jpg

 

springo.jpg

 

mix2.jpg

When made, this recipe will last for a good 3-4 days in the fridge in an air-tight container. Seal it as tightly as possible as with the avocados, there is a tendency to brown. However, if you are not using the avocados, this will last for a day or so more with no browning.

eggsalad1.jpg

Read on, and make at the earliest:

Ingredients

  1. 4 boiled eggs, chopped to whatever degree of fineness you like
  2. 1/2 avocado, mashed
  3. 1 tomato, diced
  4. 1 cup spring onions, diced
  5. 2 tbsps greek yogurt
  6. 2 tbsps feta cheese, optional
  7. 1 tsp dill
  8. 1 tsp oregano
  9. salt, pepper to taste

Makes 4 sandwiches, or 6 single toast servings easily

Method

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. (If you are boiling eggs as you are chopping and adding, add tomatoes in the end, as it leaves some water.) Spoon onto toasted bread. Layer it up with spinach, lettuce, some ham maybe. Serve and enjoy.

Note: Adding avocado is completely up to you. It just makes the salad a tad bit creamier. In case you want to make this without the avocado, please do increase the yogurt by 1 tablespoon or more.

eggsalad2.jpg

 

Let me leave you with some more egg salad recipes. Take your pick what you want to cook with. Maybe mine, maybe theirs :)

http://www.yummly.com/recipes/egg-salad-julia-child

Bon Appetit!

Hey Hey, What do you have to say?

