Cook Em Up / The Food

Strawberry Nutella French Toast Rollups

Love strawberries: Check

Love Nutella: Slurrp-check

Love french toast: Check check check!

So time to take it to another level, right?

I had a super big bag of strawberries (remember my visit to Prahran market and the bargain dollar deals?) and wanted to do something other than milk shakes, cakes , pancake toppings, etc etc, and I found this really yummy looking recipe for French Toast Rollups, by Christy at The Girl Who Ate Everything (I love that name, seems like we could be really good friends :D ). As complicated as it sounds, it actually takes like 15 minutes to assemble, prep, cook, and serve. Voila!

rollupscollage.jpg

The steps to get this delectable treat onto your table are quite simple:

  1. Take a few slices of bread (regular, wholemeal, brioche, challah, whatever you like), trim the crusts
  2. With a rolling pin, flatten out the bread slices so it’s easier to stuff and roll
  3. Spread on  Nutella on the slice
  4. Add the strawberries to one side of the slice
  5. Roll in the bread to form a roll up
  6. In a bowl, prepare the egg and milk mix to dunk the roll ups in, it is French toast after all
  7. Heat a pan with some butter
  8. Dip each roll in the egg and milk mix and fry in the pan, until is lightly browned
  9. To add onto the delectable-ness, you can also keep a bowl of powdered (not icing) sugar, or cinnmaon powder mixed with sugar, and roll the roll-ups immediately in them post cooking
  10. Pick ’em up with your hands, and nom nom nom….rollups6.jpg

 

Now I did pretty much everything above except for a few variations:

  1. I don’t like wasting food plus I really like the crust, so I did not trim the crust (that’s why my french roll ups look like a sausage roll, methinks)
  2. No dipping in sugar for the roll ups for me; Was happy with the end product just the same
  3. I used boring wholemeal bread so the roll ups are a little thicker and probably could have added tons more Nutella, but hey, to each his own. The plan was to use up the berries, not dunk myself in Nutella
Flatten out the bread with a rolling pin

Flatten out the bread with a rolling pin

Rollups2.jpg

Spread Nutella. Stuff strawberries. Roll up bread. Ignore my scratched chopping board.

rollups3.jpg

Trimming the crusts would have definitely made for a prettier picture. But hey, I wanted to have my crust and eat it too ;)

So here a few links for this tasty TASTY treat, and a few variations that I got my eyes on (cream cheese and banana anyone, or is it just me?!)

  1. Christy’s version from the Girl Who Ate Everything: She alternated stuffing with strawberries and nutella,  and strawberries and cream cheese, yum yum yum.

Like I always say, make it, and make it NOW

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Nutella French Toast Rollups

Hey Hey, What do you have to say?

