3 Girls and a #BlogAlong

#BlogAlong + My Top 5 Comfort Foods

Hello Hello,

It’s blog party time.. whooop dee dooo, and this month I am so excited because Upasna, Pooja and I are talking about FOOD!!

I love food, she loves food, we all love food.

This month’s theme is comfort food, soul-food, food that you eat while sitting in your pjs wrapped up in your blanket, food that reminds you of home, food that makes you sigh in food-gasmic delight…. food that makes you feel downright good!

For me, all food in itself is such a comfort. Actually, it won’t be a lie when I say that for me the fascination with food borders on the obsessive. I am one of those peeps who is ALWAYS thinking about food. What I am eating, what I am going to be eating, what others are eating… gahhhhh! My favorite activity on weekends is going grocery shopping at farmers markets! I can make everything about food. Childhood memories, vacation stories, people stories, weddings, visits to friends and family, days at work, outings to the park, day out gallivanting, gymming. People who know me well know this to be true of me, and love me for it. Hopefully. Or they are too sweet to say otherwise. Errrrr…

funny-weight-loss-cartoon-w630

Anyhoo, the 3Girls want to share their list of the 5 favourite comfort foods with you, and hoping we get to know yours too. I compiled my list of 5 items and felt bad for the ones that didn’t make it in. Because I love all food equally. Except for karelas. eeyuck

I. Kadhi Chaawal: This used to be the first thing my mom would make for me whenever I came home for a vacation during my grad and post-grad. She used to make the most amazing pakoda kadhi and would always fry up some extra pakodas which I could and would hog on later. For me, the best comfort food will always be ma’s kadhi chaawal, served with her freshly whipped white (unsalted) butter and pakodas.

Image Source: sinamontales.wordpress.com

Image Source: sinamontales.wordpress.com

II. Dal Chaawal: I am such a Desi, because when I crave comfort food I crave dal and rice, maybe some onions and some pickle, and I’m sorted. Ahh, the slurpaliciousness of it all. I love rice, and I could eat it with anything, and a big bowl of dal-chaawal hits the right spot. Always. Remember my obsession with pahaadi dal recipes, here and here?

Final1

III. Seviyan: I debated a lot between halwa and seviyan. I could eat both by the bushel. However, when I was compiling this list, I was also making a batch of seviyan for breakfast, so knew which one was the winner. Sweet vermicelli roasted in ghee and cooked with water and sugar, mmm mmm mmm… I love it. I prefer the drier version to the milky one.

ba1

 

IV. Muffins: Blueberry, raspberry, chocolate chip, apple, carrot-cake, healthy, savoury… I want ’em all. I see a muffin and I Have To T.R.Y it!

V. Cheese

This is how I am with cheese…

eat the cheese

‘Nuff said!

Turns out my love for food is surpassed by my love for writing and gushing about it. Methinks we should do a list of comfort drinks too. Remember when I wrote this love song to Hot Chocolate? Or devote a section only to kebabs, maybe. I could add SO much to such lists :D

Now come on over and tell me what floats your comfort boat… is it a big bowl of soup, creamy mac ‘n’ cheese, mom’s yummy chocolate cake, or a big pint of guinness, whatever be your fancy, I’am all yours, dear blogger.

This post is a part of the 3 Girls and a #BlogAlong monthly link-up party, co-hosted by Upasna from Life On My Plate, Pooja from A Bit Of This And A Lot Of That  and Shruti from MszKnowitall. This month’s theme is  Your 5 Favourite Comfort Foods  and it’s time to listen to your tummies!

BlogAlongTo #BlogAlong with us, here’s what you have to do:

  1. Publish a new post or share an old post on the monthly theme
  2. Link for posting remains open from the first Sunday of the month to the following Sunday, till midnight
  3. Don’t forget to include the #BlogAlong badge in your post. In order to get the code, click on the 3Girls and a #BlogAlong image in the sidebar on my blog or here itself, and it will lead you to the image URL
  4. We would also appreciate if you link back to your hosts, and follow us too. You can find me on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter, and ofcourse on WordPress :)
  5. Join the party by clicking on the inlinkz button below any of our posts, and adding your post to the blogroll
  6. Comment on each others posts and spread the love
  7. Promote yours and others posts on social media using #BlogAlong with the 3Girls

10 thoughts on “#BlogAlong + My Top 5 Comfort Foods

  1. Pingback: Seal Pups of Kaikoura, New Zealand | Msz Knowitall

  2. Pingback: #BlogAlong + Things That Defined My Growing Up Years | Msz Knowitall

  3. I know! What’s travel without the scrumptious food!! And sweet seviyan, is basically sweet vermicelli cooked in ghee ( Indian version of full fat clarified butter) and sugar and water. Yum! It’s more popular as a household dish than served in restaurants in India.

    Like

  4. So Chaawal is rice. And Kadhi is basically a dish made by cooking chickpea flour and sour curd in mustard oil (preferably). This is the base of the dish and the key ingredient is the sour curd. Will send you a link to a good recipe and my own version too :)
    And a big thanks for stopping by! (You’re my Aussie neighbour, hurray)

    Liked by 1 person

Hey Hey, What do you have to say?

