The Stories

Sisterhood Of The World Bloggers Award

“Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award recognizes the unique voices of women bloggers around the world.”

 

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers

My first blogger award! yayiie! And boy, it feels good. So good!

I used to keep seeing others around me get the Liebsters, the Sunshine awards etc and I knew I was missing out on all that fun. Primarily because if I am being honest, I wasn’t very regular in my blog posts (I still am not, but I am trying to improve haha). And also, because I wasn’t making much of an effort to know more about other wonderful bloggers out there who are travelling the world, sharing their stories, sharing family recipes, forming new friendships. But the moment you take that extra step, they welcome you right in. And that’s what is incredible about this community and these forums.

These wonderful bloggers and their stories make me realise that I am not alone in a far away land, away from best friends and family. Thanks to this sisterhood we are all a part of. And I won’t have it any other way.

And an even bigger thanks to Lyn for welcoming me right in by sharing the Sisterhood Of The World Bloggers Award with me. I heart you Lyn.. and your super blog. It’s such a fun read, eevry single post of yours…You’ re my Oz neighbour too :D

After looking into the rules I must acknowledge the blogger that nominated me, answer her 10 questions, nominate 10 worthy bloggers and ask them 10 questions. I accept the conditions, so read on.

  • What is the most memorable food you have had while travelling?

Food is always such a highlight for me in my trips. I don’t think I have bad memories of food at all. But one of the most memorable food memories for me was this incredibly soft, and fresh blueberry scone I had in Lake District, when my friends and I were on our way to Edinburgh. I wasn’t particularly hungry but these guys wanted to have breakfast. We stopped at this lakeside cafe, and ordered food. I ordered the cafes famous homemade scone with freshly whipped cream, not expecting what I got.

11208020_893812580680704_1853344142_n

I took a bite and I was in heaven. It was soft, just the right amount of sweet, and that combination of fresh cream and juicy blueberries. When I did the trip with Arjun Singh, a year later, I actually took him back to this cafe just so he could partake in my food-orgasmic memory too. ;)

  • If for some reason you couldn’t return home and could no longer travel, where would you settle?

Italy, methinks. They love food, I love food. The weather is Mediterranean. I think I would settle down very comfortably in Italy. Under the Tuscan sun, perhaps? :)

  • Where is the one place on your bucket list that everyone asks why you want to go there?

This is tough because I don’t have a travel bucket list yet, but the one place I probably am questioned about is Valley of Flowers, in India. It’s supposed to be a treacherous trek, at the end of which you are rewarded by beautiful panaromic views of alpine vegetation and flowers. I am not highly athletic and just the fact that I want to do this trek and trip so bad makes people wonder why do I want to do that.

  • Have you met anyone famous while travelling?

Oh YES. This has to be one of my epic memories while travelling. Infact, Pooja and I were in Hyde Park in London sigh, and I was on the phone with Arjun Singh, when this super pretty girl ran past me, and I said to him, I think Katrina Kaif just ran past me. He did not believe me, but I turned around and there she was playing cricket with a bunch of her chums. And then a few minutes later, Shah Rukh Khan turned up. Pooja and I went crazy and literally staked out there for the next hour, after which their bodyguards had promised us that they would pose for pictures once play time was over. We nerded out completely but it was so worth it.

shah rukh

katrina

 

  • What is the most risky thing you have done while travelling?

Hehe. Tons. But the one that I will share with you all is this story. I was working in the UK and had a work permit. And  I really wanted to visit Ireland on the Easter break weekend. With my work permit I could travel anywhere in the Uk and Northern Ireland, but not Ireland, for which I needed a tourist visa. However, it was a week to go and I hadn’t gotten the tourist visa. But then someone told me that that they had taken the ferry from Liverpool to Dublin, on their way to Belfast. So you could spend a day in Ireland in transit on your work visa but would have to travel onwards the same day.

Well, I took that to the next level. I took the ferry, yes. Reached Dublin in the wee hours of the morning. Passport was checked yes. No one said anything. In fact the officials at the ferry station saw my visa and asked me if I was a student. hehe. I told them I was on my way to Belfast from here. And they believed me. And then I stayed 3 nights in Dublin!. The first day I was petrified that someone would know I am not supposed to be here and ask me to leave. But the Irish wouldn’t do that, nahhh, they are too nice. They know when someone is there for a genuinely good reason.

I wanted my Guinness and I got me some. And no one was caught or deported. Phew.

  • Where do you want to travel to the most?

Himachal Pradesh, my hometown. It’s a dream for me to do a backpacking trip across my home state in India, meeting the people there. Visiting their homes. Collecting recipes. Making jam from the fresh fruit. Spending a winter there. Spending a summer there. Maybe settling there? Who knows.

  • What is the best advice you can give a new blogger?

Write for yourself. Don’t write to increase the hit counter, or increase followers. Write about what you believe in, what you love, what delights you. And trust me, the appreciation follows. Because people know a good story when they read one.

  • What is your most read blog?

My own. haha. No, I am not kidding. I keep revisiting my blog posts because I am super critical about my own posts. and super narcissistic too.  But apart from that, definitely Life On My PlateA Bit Of This And a Lot of That, and Slightly Astray.

  • When you are not travelling and blogging you are… ?

Doing things that I would forego in a heartbeat for more travel and blogging. Just kidding. Maybe not. I have a full time job as a consultant and it pays the bills and the travel tickets so wouldn’t really want to forego that now. Or would we ;)

  • Is there anything you collect from your travels?

I collect tons of stuff. I am one of those shopaholic travelers for whom yes, the experience of visiting a new land is magnificient but then I want to remember it furthermore by buying things from there. When I was younger it used to be postcards. And now, I have added shot glasses as a must from my travels. There is a bunch of them with me here, a bunch lying back in India. I miss them all.

 

Now time for me to share this award with 10 increeible bloggers out there. My list is as follows,

  1. Pooja, A Bit Of This And a Lot of That
  2. Upasna, Life on my Plate
  3. Bharti, Suitcase of Stories
  4. Anna, Slightly Astray
  5. Laia, Colibrist
  6.  Mabel Kwong
  7. Andrea, Cooking With A Wallflower
  8. Nandini, Goanwiki
  9. Rachel Mankowitz
  10. Edlyn, Egeedee
  11. This one is not needed, but just right back at you, Lyn, thank you SO much :)

My questions for the ten amazing women I nominated for Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award.

  1. What is the most memorable food you’ve had while travelling?
  2. If for some reason you couldn’t return home and could no longer travel, where would you settle?
  3. What is the one surperpower you wish you had?
  4. Have you met anyone famous while travelling?
  5. Is there anything you collect from your travels?
  6. What is the best advice your Mom ever gave you?
  7. What is a recipe you wouldn’t part with.. ever?
  8. What is your greatest fear?
  9. What is the inspiration behind your blogs name?
  10. When you are not travelling and blogging you are… ?

Hats off to all the nominees. Each of you have been chosen because of the unique individualities in your blog style and photography that makes each of you wordsmiths and inspirational bloggers. The reason I keep visiting your blog is beacuse it’s honest and that reflects in every blog post.

I appreciate you are all busy and may choose not to accept the award, and that is ok. I just want to thank each of you for taking time away from your blog to assist with a like, a comment, a retweet, hosting or participating in a Link Up

 

If you liked this post, please share or like via the buttons below or if you have something to say please leave a comment.

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers

 

5 thoughts on “Sisterhood Of The World Bloggers Award

  1. Pingback: 'Sisterhood of the World Bloggers' Award - A Bit of This and a Lot of That...

  2. Congrats shruti! Well deserved and thanks so much for the nomination. This post is such a fun read. Took me back to all the stalking in Hyde park.
    I’m super excited about it! Lots of love to you my blogger sister!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations for the award!
    And…thanks so much for thinking about my blog, I am so honored, specially to see my name among other bigger blogs that I admire and follow!
    I’m not sure I’ll have time to write about it and pass it through, but thanks again :)

    Liked by 1 person

Hey Hey, What do you have to say?

